top of page

How to Juggle (Motherhood and Everything Else)

So maybe some of you already know that I am not only a mom, but I am also still a college student. I am working on my Bachelor's Degree in Child and Family Services while also being L's mom and, not to sell myself short or anything, a housewife. 

I clean daily. I cook every single meal. I plan our days so L always has enriching activities in her day. I also find time to do my homework and read, somehow. 

How do I manage all this, you ask? I have a plan for each day. I schedule things. Tuesdays I do my homework that is due Thursday. Thursday and Friday I do my homework that's due Sunday. Basically, I set aside a certain amount of time three days a week just for homework. These days, I usually have a sitter for L, whether it be a family member, friend, or nanny. I highly reccomend enlisting help. 

When homework is done, I do the household chores. Most of the time, however, these chores wait until L is asleep because there's a 100% chance she will ruin what I just accomplished because.... she's one. It's what they do. It's no big deal but it's much less frustrating to do it when you know it'll remain clean for at least like... 10 hours... rather than 10 seconds. 

I make dinner every night and usually this is accomplished with L crying at my feet. I have tried a slew of activities to try to keep her happy but she decides that dinner time is the best time to be a velcro baby. Sometimes, I stick her in her high chair with some yogurt or applesauce and let her do some tasty sensory play. It doesn't always work. 

Juggling everything from parenting to cooking to cleaning to schoolwork without dying is an incredible feat. Even if you are juggling parenting and cleaning, or parenting and schoolwork, that is still hard work. You are doing amazing no matter how much or how little you did today. You are amazing even if you did "nothing." 

Enlist help. Set a schedule. Make time. Stay up an extra 30 minutes if you have to. Whatever it is, it'll work out. But one thing I will say is that there will always be chores to do. The house does not have to be clean, so put that last. What matters is your baby. Belly full, clothes on their back, roof over their head. Family first. Let everything else fall second or third or dead ass last. 

They're only so little for so long. 

Love,

The Honest Mom


bottom of page